Gluten Free Wine Options!

Dietary restrictions can make it difficult to enjoy the things you love, and wine is no different. Grapes are naturally gluten free, though, so what’s the deal? Even though wine itself is gluten free, red wines – in some cases – are aged within barrels that are sealed using wheat paste, leading to the possibility of gluten contamination through the aging process; other producers may use a fining agent (to remove small sediment) that contains gluten. While there are scientific articles that have tested the residual gluten found in a variety of wines and found that none of them surpassed the 20 parts per million (ppm) restriction set on wines labeled as “gluten free,” wines produced using these methods can still affect those with a high sensitivity to gluten. White wines are normally a safe bet (excluding those aged in oak, like chardonnay). If you are looking for a red, it is best to ask for something aged in concrete or steel. Today, there are many winemakers that produce gluten free wine exclusively or as part of their portfolio, although it can be hard to find them as they are not always labeled as such. It is best to do your research or check in with your local liquor store associate for a recommendation, but there is no need to avoid wine completely if you are gluten free. It may make for a more limited selection, but there is still plenty to explore and enjoy. For whites (even though most will be agreeable): Oyster Bay offers a Sauvignon Blanc and a Chardonnay. For Reds: Frey offers a nice selection; Zinfandel, Merlot, Syrah, and Pinot Noir. The entire lineup offered by Barefoot is gluten-free as well. For something bubbly: Pizzolato offers a prosecco and a rose spumante.


Scroll to Top